A SINGLE TWEET CHANGED MY LIFE

Image

I never asked for this. I stumbled into minimalism serendipitously, haphazardly, not knowing what I was looking for. It was unintentional at first.

The year was 2009, early autumn. As the leaves resisted their change in color, my dying mother resisted the division of cancer cells in her body as they metastasized beyond her lungs to other vital organs and, eventually, her brain.

A month after she passed, my marriage ended abruptly, and I didn’t know which way was up anymore. All I knew was that I wasn’t happy. I had worked unimaginably hard for more than a decade, chasing happiness around every bend, but the faster I ran, the farther away it was.

As my twenties twilighted, I went searching for answers, looking for anything to help me figure it all out. At that point, any answer would’ve sufficed.

Then in November 2009, a single tweet changed my life. Someone I followed on Twitter, which I hadn’t used much up to that point, shared a link to a video from a young Midwesterner named Colin Wright. Don’t ask me why, but for some reason I felt compelled to click the link… [Read more at The Minimalists]

Leave a Reply

